A lesson in perspective

I had an interesting day at work today. I figure there are two ways to look at this.

Day #1:

  • I had to do a lot of chores that someone else was supposed to do.
  • Several people were grumpy.
  • I was forced to stay an hour past the time I was supposed to get off.
  • It was hot in the store today and I was sweating all day.

Day #2

  • I did so many chores today that I met my 10,000 step goal on my pedometer half an hour before I got off work. I'll get to relax tonight.
  • I had the opportunity to cheer up several people.
  • I got to work an extra hour so my paycheck will be larger.
  • Even though it is 106 degrees outside, it didn't feel too hot when I left work.
I was assembling orders together during lunch today, and one of the kitchen staff got my attention.

“Why are you so excited? Are our times really good?”

“No, our times are terrible,” I replied.

“Then why are you happy?” he asked.

“Well, as I see it, there are two ways to look at things. I can be happy about them or I can be cranky. I think it's better on me and all of you if I'm happy.”

He looked at me and shook his head.

But I like day #2 better than day #1.

I think I'll keep it.

 

Leave a Reply

